Culture

You Speak ‘Language’?

One day I had a conversation, still with Oriane and Jean. In the middle of our conversation, she asked me,

“So tomorrow should I deliver the session in English or Indonesian?”

“English is fine…” I replied.

“So which one is correct, Bahasa or Indonesian?” She continues

Yap, actually I prefer to say that I speak IndonesianΒ than Bahasa. Because in my language, bahasa means language. So it will be pretty much awkward if someone is asking you what language do you speak and then you answer “I speak ‘language’!”

I don’t care if Bahasa is the correct one according to some people, but for me, if someone is asking me about what language do you speak? I will proudly say that I speak Indonesian!

Leave a Reply

